MAKE.GOOD.ART

Another recommended commencement speech Open-mouthed smile. Manusia ini adalah penulis terkenal (oh well, gw cuma kenal novelnya yang berjudul StarDust).

Gw enjoy cara dia ngomong karena kata-katanya artistik… Ini adalah commencement speech yang ditujukan untuk anak-anak calon seniman dunia. Tapi saran-saran dia bisa berlaku secara general, dan karena ini ditujukan untuk anak-anak seni, gw melihat sudut pandang yang berbeda dari commencement speech yang lain.

… and I decided I’d try my best in the future NOT to write books just for the money. If you didn’t get the money, then you didn’t have anything (to worry about), and if I did the work that I was proud of, and I didn’t get the money, at least I’d have the work.

Every now and then, I forget that rule. and whenever I do, the universe kicks me hard and reminds me. I don’t know that it’s an issue for anybody but me, but it’s true that nothing I did where the only reason for doing it was the money was ever worth it, except its bitter experience… and usually I didn’t wind up getting the money either.

the thing that I did because I was excited and wanted to see them exist in reality, have never let me down, and I’ve never regretted the time I spent on any of them.

Leave a Reply

